Contact Information

Executive Director of Exceptional Children
Rhonda McClenahan
ADR Education Center
410 Garfield Street
Statesville, NC 28677
704-873-9432
fax: 704-871-9553
rhonda_mcclenahan@iss.k12.nc.us

Coordinator of Early Childhood Development
Dr. Michelle Kendrick
Unity Preschool Assessment Center
1147 Salisbury Road
Statesville, NC 28625
704-872-8115
fax: 704-978-2363
michelle_kendrick@iss.k12.nc.us

Lead EC Compliance Coordinator
Christine Fournier
ADR Education Center
410 Garfield Street
Statesville, NC 28677
704-873-9432
fax: 704-871-9553
christine_fournier@iss.k12.nc.us

Lead EC Curriculum Coordinator/ NC SIP Coordinator
Crystal Douglas
ADR Education Center
410 Garfield Street  
Statesville, NC 28677
704-873-9432
fax: 704-871-9553
crystal_douglas@iss.k12.nc.us

Adapted Physical Education

Adapted Physical Education Program

 

Iredell-Statesville School District provides adapted physical education services for children who are eligible under the Exceptional Children Services Department. Adapted Physical Education is a sub-discipline of physical education. It is an individualized program created for students with disabilities in order to ensure safe and successful physical education opportunities. The general goal of physical education and Adapted Physical Education are the same. Both seek to maximize each child’s physical fitness levels, positive self-image, and social awareness and behavior. Every child with a disability must receive physical education services, but not necessarily a specially designed Adapted Physical Education program.  Physical education involves physical fitness, motor fitness, fundamental motor skills and patterns, dance skills, individual, group games and sports. A student who is physically or cognitively delayed/impaired but is able to participate in a regular physical education class with only minor modifications does not require Adapted Physical Education. 

 

If you have question or concerns, you may contact the Jeremy Quick or Sherry Smith at ADR by phone at (704) 873-9432.

 

Adapted PE Links:

Adapted PE Menu (PE Central)

Adapted PE Web Sites

Assistive Technology

Assistive Technology Lead: Nan Williams

Contact information: nwilliams@iss.k12.nc.us

Audiologist

Audiologist: Joe Manser    joseph_manser@iss.k12.nc.us 

Autism Specialist

Contact: Rick Marcy

Base: ADR

Phone: (704) 873-9432

Email: rmarcy@iss.k12.nc.us

 

Visual, meaningful Social Stories can easily be made using Power Point and Windows Story Maker. 

Social Stories/How to's for Social Stories 

 

Behavior Specialist

Behavior Education Support Team (BEST)

Behavior Specialist: 

Laural Johnson    laural_johnson@iss.k12.nc.us 

 

Technicians: 

Wilette Eley   weley@iss.k12.nc.us

Jennifer Bender jennifer_bender@iss.k12.nc.us

Curriculum

Lead EC Curriculum Coordinator/ NC SIP Coordinator

Crystal Douglas

ADR Education Center

410 Garfield Street  

Statesville, NC 28677

704-873-9432

fax: 704-871-9553

cdouglas@iss.k12.nc.us

Data Manager

Lead Compliance Coordinator: Christine Fournier

Phone: 704-873-9432

Email: christine_fournier@iss.k12.nc.us 

Data/Compliance Managers

Base School

Phone 

Schools Served

Amber Chapman ADR 704-873-9432

Celeste Elementary

Central Elementary

Coddle Creek Elementary

Cool Spring Elementary

Lake Norman Elementary

North Iredell Middle

Shepherd Elementary

Troutman Middle

Union Grove Elementary

Lynne Holder

lholder@iss.k12.nc.us

UPAC 704-872-8115 Unity Preschool (ISS LEA)

Jamie Milam

jamie_milam@iss.k12.nc.us 

 ADR 704-873-9432

Brawley Middle

CATS

CCTL

Crossroads

DPATS

Harmony 

Lake Norman High

Lakeshore Elementary

Lakeshore Middle

NB Mills

Pressly

Statesville Middle

Statesville High

Troutman Elementary

VACANCY

 

 

 

ADR

704-873-9432

 

Shannon Wilhelm

shannon_wilhelm@iss.k12.nc.us

 

ADR

 

704-873-9432

Cloverleaf

East Iredell Elementary

East Iredell Middle

Mt. Mourne IB

Northview IB

North High

Scotts

Sharon Elementary

South Iredell High

Third Creek Elementary

West High

West Middle

Woodland Heights

EC Specialists

EC SPECIALISTS

Schools Served 

Danielle Dixon

danielle_dixon@iss.k12.nc.us

 

Cool Spring

East Elementary

East Middle

Troutman Elementary

Troutman Middle

 

Jenifer Glover

jenifer_glover@iss.k12.nc.us

 

Preschool Classrooms

Elementary LI Classrooms

 

Julie Parlier

julie_parlier@iss.k12.nc.us

 

 

Secondary LI Classrooms

EC Itinerant Homebound

Alysha Derting

alysha_derting@iss.k12.nc.us

 

Scotts

Sharon

South High

WIMS

WIHS

Northview IB

 

Rhonda Dagenhart

rhonda_dagenhart@iss.k12.nc.us

Pressly 

North High School 

Agricultural & Science Early College

Harmony

 

Lee Cope 

lavinia_cope@iss.k12.nc.us

 

Transition

OCS

CATS

Parent Advisory

Come Dine with Me and Rec/Leisure

Crossroads Arts & Sciences Early College

CCTL

Statesville High

 

 Anna Gordon   

anna_gordon@iss.k12.nc.us

 

Shepherd 

Lakeshore Elementary

Lakeshore Middle

Lake Norman Elementary

Lake Norman High

Mandy Bates    

amanda_bates@iss.k12.nc.us

 

Third Creek

Statesville Middle

Brawley Middle

Woodland Heights

Mount Mourne

Coddle Creek

 Pelham Gentry   

pelham_gentry@iss.k12.nc.us

Celeste

Central

Cloverleaf 

NB Mills 

North Middle

Union Grove 

Hearing Impaired Teachers

Hearing Impaired Teachers:

Jenny Dash   jenny_dash@iss.k12.nc.us

Laine Armistead     laine_armistead@iss.k12.nc.us

OT and PT

Itinerant Related Services

Mission Statement

Physical Therapy and  Occupational Therapy,  will assist in maximizing ISS EC student academic potential, functional independence and personal health and safety within a least restrictive environment by evaluating school based therapy/health needs, implementing IEP driven related service interventions, assisting in procurement of medical supplies/equipment and referral to community resources; and, advocating for maximal integration of all EC students into their school settings. 


Related services means transportation, and such developmental, corrective, and other supportive services as may be required to assist a child with a disability to benefit from special education, and includes the early identification and assessment of disabling conditions in children.  A student who does not require special education is not eligible for a related service funded under this program.

While "related services" includes a number of disciplines and services, the "itinerant related services" department which is based at the Alan D. Rutherford administrative building of the Iredell Statesville Schools, includes physical therapy, and  occupational therapy.   These are services provided for students identified in the exceptional children's program who would be unable to successfully participate in their educational program without this intervention.  These services are offered to students in their school environment by itinerant therapists.

Occupational Therapists:

Candice Stikeleather
cstikeleather@iss.k12.nc.us

 

704-873-9432

Emily Watts
emily_watts@iss.k12.nc.us

704-873-9432

Nan Williams
nwilliams@iss.k12.nc.us

704-873-9432

 Lauren Rakes- Certified Occupational Therapy Assistant

lauren_rakes@iss.k12.nc.us

 

 704-873-9432

 

 

Physical Therapists: 

Vickie Reeves
vreeves@iss.k12.nc.us

704-873-9432

 

 Nikkie Degner

nikki_degner@iss.k12.nc.us

 704-873-9432

 Kate Seely

kate_seely@iss.k12.nc.us

 704-873-9432

 

 

Nursing

Lead Nurse for Iredell Statesville Schools: Karen Kerley     kkerley@iss.k12.nc.us

Psychologists

2018-2019 School Psychologists

Email Address

Phone

Schools Served

 

 Brittany King

 

brittany_king@iss.k12.nc.us

704-873-9432

Shepherd Elementary

West Iredell High

West Iredell Middle

North Iredell High

Chelsea Littleton

chelsea_littleton@iss.k12.nc.us 704-873-9432

Scotts

NB Mills

South Iredell High

Rigby Malandrino

 

rigby_malandrino@iss.k12.nc.us

 

704-873-9432

Lakeshore Elementary

Lakeshore Middle

Woodland Heights

Eva Mayberry

 

eva_mayberry@iss.k12.nc.us

 

704-873-9432

Cloverleaf

Pressly

North Middle

UPAC- Pre K

Carol McDonald

 

carol_mcdonald@iss.k12.nc.us

 

704-873-9432

Celeste

Third Creek Elementary

Troutman Middle

Suzanne Neuschaefer

 suzanne_neuschaefer@iss.k12.nc.us  704-873-9432

East Middle

Cool Spring

Harmony

 

 

Andrea Nunn

andrea_nunn@iss.k12.nc.us  704-873-9432 

Lake Norman Elementary

Statesville Middle

Statesville High

Coddle Creek Elementary

April Powell

april_powell@iss.k12.nc.us 704-873-9432 East Iredell Elementary

 

Union Grove Elementary

Central Elementary

Sharon Elementary

 Emilia Raulli

emilia_raulli@iss.k12.nc.us 704-873-9432

Troutman Elementary

Lake Norman High

Brawley Middle

Speech

Lead Speech

Kathy Richards 

Base: Celeste Henkel Elementary

Phone: (704) 873-7333

Email:  kathy_richards@iss.k12.nc.us

Visually Impaired Teacher

Visually Impaired Teacher:

Tara Rider

Base: Celeste

Phone: 704-873-7333

Email: tara_rider@iss.k12.nc.us