Media

 

The Media Coordinators of Iredell-Statesville Schools lead, teach and support school and district goals.  Our work focuses on making the  Media Centers learner centered and making learners ready for the future.  By connecting practices, programs and spaces to strategic initiatives, we will bring innovation to our schools.

David Edwards, Executive Director of Technology and Media Services
Susan Pope, District Media Coordinator


 

Our Media Centers

Professional Resources

       https://futureready.org/program-overview/librarians/

  • Information & Technology Essential Standards

       http://www.ncpublicschools.org/dtl/standards/ites/#it

       http://www.ncslma.org/

Research Resources

      http://www.ncwiseowl.org/

Flexible Access Resources

Battle of the Books

Elementary Battle of the Books

2019-2020 Elementary Battle of the Books

Competition Date:
Location:  
Times:

Printable Book List

Middle School Battle of the Books

2019-2020 Middle School Battle of the Books

Competition Date:
Location:
Times:

Printable Book List

 

High School Battle of the Books

2019-2020 High School Battle of the Books

Competition Date:
Location:
Times:

Printable Book List

 

What is it?

Battle of the Books is a reading incentive program designed to encourage students to read quality literature. Students read books and come together to demonstrate their abilities and test their knowledge of the books they have read. The competitions are similar in style to the TV series Family Feud, but the structure and format of the competitions may vary depending on the needs, resources and personal preferences at various school sites or at the regional/state competition levels.

How it all began

In the 1930's Battle of the Books was a Chicago radio program. Today it is a reading incentive program in elementary, middle and high schools across the country. All of the questions in the competition begin with the words "In which book" and the correct answer is always the title and author of the book. This program works at the individual school level as well as at the interscholastic and district wide levels. Classroom teachers, reading specialists and library media specialists spend many hours choosing books and writing questions for each year's battles.  

District Coordinator: Susan Pope  ( sjpope@iss.k12.nc.us )

Elementary Media Coordinators

School
Media Coordinator
Contact
Celeste Henkel Jill Inscore jinscore@iss.k12.nc.us
Central Elementary Patty Hepler phepler@iss.k12.nc.us
Cloverleaf Jessica Emery jemery@iss.k12.nc.us
Coddle Creek  Vivian Melvin vivian_melvin@iss.k12.nc.us
Cool Spring Veronica Williams vwilliams@iss.k12.nc.us
East Elementary Rita Outen routen@iss.k12.nc.us
Harmony Leigh Scott gldscott@iss.k12.nc.us
Lake Norman Elementary

Vicki Bradford

vbradford@iss.k12.nc.us
Lakeshore Elementary Melissa Loflin mloflin@iss.k12.nc.us
NB Mills  Alisha Huskey alisha_huskey@iss.k12.nc.us
Scotts Elementary David Norton david_norton@iss.k12.nc.us
Sharon Elementary Diane Stewart dstewart@iss.k12.nc.us
Shepherd Elementary Marcia Edwards marcia_edwards@iss.k12.nc.us
Third Creek Elementary Becky Vodek bvodek@iss.k12.nc.us
Troutman Elementary Anita McMillan amcmillan@iss.k12.nc.us
Union Grove Elementary Lisa Reese lreese@iss.k12.nc.us
Woodland Heights Elementary Karen Carter karen_carter@iss.k12.nc.us

 

Secondary Media Coordinators

School
Media Coordinator
Contact
Brawley Middle Katie Moose katherine_moose@iss.k12.nc.us
East Iredell Middle Lauren Roberts lauren_roberts@iss.k12.nc.us
Lake Norman High Bethany Smith bethany_smith@iss.k12.nc.us
Lakeshore Middle Lori Nesbitt lori_nesbitt@iss.k12.nc.us
Mount Mourne Dana Gillis dana_gillis@iss.k12.nc.us
North Iredell High Mickey Vestal mvestal@iss.k12.nc.us
North Iredell Middle Gayle Crater gcrater@iss.k12.nc.us
Northview Allison Wilson allison_wilson@iss.k12.nc.us
South Iredell High Karen Van Vliet kvanvliet@iss.k12.nc.us
Statesville High Megan Van Hoy megan_vanhoy@iss.k12.nc.us
Statesville Middle Kristen Goodwin kristen_goodwin@iss.k12.nc.us
Troutman Middle Stephanie Justice sjustice@iss.k12.nc.us
West Iredell High Laurie Hooker laurie_hooker@iss.k12.nc.us
West Iredell Middle Dr. Angela Hines ahines@iss.k12.nc.us

 

Media Coordinator of the Year

Iredell-Statesville Schools' Media Coordinator of the Year

Melissa Loflin

Lakeshore Elementary School

Check out some of the projects and happenings from her Media Center.