Student Reassignment


Beginning February 2024 for all new applicants: 
Requests for student reassignment must be renewed annually.
All reassignment requests will be reviewed by a district committee.
Requests for the upcoming school year must be submitted by June 1 and decisions will be made by June 30. 

Please note:
If you were approved for enrollment prior to February 2024 it is likely your child was approved to stay at your current school until they age out of that building.  The letters you have, dated prior to February 2024, will be honored. 

Allowable Reasons for Student Reassignment: 

  •  Educational Need
    • While I-SS seeks to offer a wide range of curriculum in all schools, there are rare instances where a student’s educational needs would be better accommodated at another school.  
    • ​​​​​​If a student receives a transfer based on curricular needs and then drops that curriculum, the transfer will be revoked at the next semester. 
  • Children of Employees 

  • Extreme Hardship 

  • Home Construction 

  • Legal Reasons for Transfer 
    • Students classified as homeless
    • Students in foster care 
    • Unsafe school choice under ESSA

These guidelines are further outlined in I-SS School Board Policy 4150. 


Completing this student reassignment form serves as a request to attend a school other than your assigned home school.

Please complete one application for each child.

If you reside outside of the Iredell-Statesville School District boundary, you must obtain a release from the administrative office of the school system in which you reside.  This release must be submitted to our office by June 30.  We will be unable to approve any requests without this release on file.  For your convenience, we have linked contact information for nearby school districts. Be sure you are completing release forms for the 2024-2025 school year. Completed releases should be emailed to or mailed to ADR Education Center Attn: Lindsey Riebeling, 410 Garfield St, Statesville, NC 28625.

Alexander County Schools
Cabarrus County Schools
Caldwell County Schools
Catawba County Schools
Charlotte Mecklenburg Schools
Davie County Schools
Mooresville Graded School District
Rowan-Salisbury Schools
Wilkes County Schools
Yadkin County Schools

If you are submitting this application and you reside outside of Iredell County,  please note that you will be charged tuition for enrollment if your application is approved.  The amount of tuition is determined yearly, in July, by the County Commissioners. The only exception to the tuition fee is for students of staff members employed by Iredell-Statesville Schools. 

We request no phone calls regarding application status updates.  All applicants will be notified by email, using the email address submitted on the application, once a decision is made. 

Incomplete applications will not be processed. 

As we try our best to be supportive in meeting the needs of transferring students, there are times that space becomes an issue and we have to deny the request.  At this time we have schools that have been closed, due to space limitations, by the Iredell-Statesville Schools Board of Education.

The following schools remain closed to out of district enrollments:

Elementary Schools
Central Elementary
East Iredell Elementary
Lake Norman Elementary
Lakeshore Elementary
Shepherd Elementary
Troutman Elementary

Middle Schools
Lakeshore Middle 

High Schools
Lake Norman High
South Iredell High

The application for Student Reassignment is open February 15 to June 1.  This application will close on June 1.  Use the link below to submit your application.  

Student Reassignment Frequently Asked Questions (updated as needed)

If you have questions before completing this application please contact our office. 

Laura Elliott   704-832-2505
Director of Testing, Accountability, and Student Information

Lindsey Riebeling    704-832-2556
Administrative Assistant

Click Here to Request Student Reassignment

If you reside in Iredell County and wish to attend school in another county please complete the Request for Release from Iredell-Statesville Schools.